Fisheries Local Action Groups

Fisheries Local Area Action Group

Fisheries Local Area Action Group (FLAG) 2014 – 2020 is a coastal community development strategy with a fund of €12 million for 7 designated Irish coastal communities. FLAG is administered by Bord Iascaigh Mhara (BIM), and is co-funded under the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund.

The FLAG strategy is focused on coastal rejuvenation and on the renewal of practices and skills in the Fishing, Aquaculture, and Maritime related sectors with the primary aim of bringing added value to the 7 FLAG Regions.

The FLAG programme seeks to encourage and enable local communities involved in fishery and aquaculture sectors to become the drivers of sustainable growth in their areas.

The seven FLAG regions include the following:

  1. FLAG Northeast (Dublin, Louth, Meath)
  2. FLAG Southeast (Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow)
  3. FLAG South (Cork)
  4. FLAG Southwest (Kerry, Limerick)
  5. FLAG West (Galway, Clare)
  6. FLAG Northwest (Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim)
  7. FLAG North (Donegal)

The 2018 communications campaign aims to show the impact of FLAG funding by telling the story of people, who live in some of Ireland’s most remote coastal communities, who have benefitted from this vital source of investment

Information on the FLAG scheme can be found on the dedicated Fisheries Local Action Groups (FLAGS) website.

Read More Case Studies